Arthur Smith Stood Up – and So Did I!

Arthur Smith once declared at the Edinburgh Festival that he would pay £100 to any journalist attending his show who would juggle fish. So, thats exactly what I did. Arthur, true to his word, invited me onto the stage after about 15 minutes of the first part of his set. Mind you, I can’t juggle, the fish were plastic, and one of the three fish was, in fact, a yellow lobster. Apart from that I told my ‘sick’ joke. “The person that was supposed to be here tonight couldn’t make it…he rang in sick. I asked him how sick was he? He told me he was in bed with his sister!” Boom-boom! My interview from the previous week may be heard here.

Richard Oliff & Arthur Smith

On stage at the Core Theatre, Corby, during a brilliant performance by Arthur Smith. Saturday 29th October 2011

On stage at the Core Theatre, Corby, during a brilliant performance by Arthur Smith. Saturday 29th October 2011

Arthur holding my orange plastic fish!

Arthur makes an apperance as his alter-ego, Canadian poet, novelist, and singer-songwriter Leonard Cohen, complete with my plastic blue fish at his slippered feet!

Oh, did I forget to mention that on two occasions a gorgeous girl wearing a beard skipped across the stage spinning an illuminated hoola-hoop? And did I forget to mention that Arthur never did pay me £100 for juggling my plastic fish?
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

