Sitting on a Fortune

Last May I wrote about the privileges and responsibilities that are associated with the carrying of a driving licence, and how it has proved invaluable in the modern world. What I didn’t cover was the sheer cost of motoring in said modern world. Last week I found myself sitting in a long queue of stationery traffic. The cause escapes me: it could have been for many different reasons from roadwork’s to a ‘shunt’ or ‘prang’ somewhere over the distant horizon. The hum of the car reminded me that I was paying for the privilege of simply sitting in that space. A cost that has been never ending from the first time I ever sat behind the wheel and an instructor said ‘now, turn the key’. The first major costs involved are the driving lessons. So much so that young adults can have tokens given as a present on special occasions. If one is lucky one may pass the first time. Then, if it hasn’t already happened, one needs to buy a car. Right, let’s get down to the nitty-gritty. You and I have just bought a second hand, sorry, used car, for £3000, which we believe to be in good condition. It’s a Vauxhall Zafira Elegance, seven seater family people carrier manufactured in 2004. Now, I shall be 57 years old this year, I’ve had a clean licence since I passed my test in the 70’s, no points: clean as a whistle. Fully comprehensive insurance for one year is £770. (Only £229 less than my council tax for a year). Last week I paid for twelve months road tax which was an additional £260 plus £3 admin charge by the DVLA.

Tax, insurance, tyres, M.O.T, fuel, servicing & 'surprises'

Then, because the car is older than three years I’m required by law to get a Ministry of Transport test certificate, a cost that can be variable depending on the garage used and any work that may be required to bring the Zafira up to standard. Let’s say, for the sake of argument, £100. Maintaining the annual service record for the car is essential, not only for peace of mind that the car is running as it ought, but also maintaining its potential resale value. The cost of new tyres can be a fright, not to mention the unexpected ‘surprise’ visits to the garage for those moments when, for example, the power steering fails, the car starts to ‘kangaroo’ or judder. Instinctively you know that this will cost money. On one car I once owned the cam belt broke leaving me with an amazing £850 repair bill. To fill the Zafira with fuel is usually around an amazing £60. Given all of these costs for just one vehicle I had to wonder, as I entered the slip-road to a very busy A14 recently, how can it be possible that there are so many cars on so many roads all over the world? It’s as if our luxuries have become necessities in a world where public transport is seriously found wanting.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sitting on a Fortune

  1. Good article. I also seriously question why there are so many roads and cars in countries and cities (especially) where there is great public transportation. I live in NYC. It’s a nightmare finding parking spots. But, I keep the car to go to New Jersey or Ling Island, or up to New England.
    Having lived in the borough of Queens for a while, I did a reverse commute to Manhattan. It was a necessity. One, I had to be at work quite early (teaching) and my school was not in a very safe area. I could justify it, then.
    Them, for a few years, I went back and forth to the country. That 160 miles was doable via subway, Amtrak and taxi. But the cost of that would add up to much more – especially with another passenger.

    But, I now have this 2004 Jaguar x-type- and while it’s lovely, I barely use it.

    We have grown accustomed to the car culture. When I was growing up,
    we didn’t own a car. My father bought a used Oldsmobile and took me out for a spin. Literally. It had snowed and he really didn’t think about it. Luckily, we were going slowly, when he hit a tree! We were living in Brooklyn, then. Great transportation available! After that, he sold the car.
    We moved to Manhattan when I started High School. Didn’t own a car till I went to teach. I don’t know why I really need one, now, except for the occasional trips. They have zip cars, here. So, in reality, it’s an emotional
    attachment.

    I wonder, too, why we destroyed our great railway system. I was born in Hungary, and love train travel!

  2. Sorry for the auto-correct spelling mistakes! It’s Long Island. Then, not them! Among a few other typos. Technology is supposed to help us!

Leave a Reply

