Boules de Pommes de Terre

I have to confess, I’m not the best cook in the world: I wouldn’t dare use the word ‘Chef’ in relation to anything I might attempt in the kitchen. Yet it was boredom with my own meat n’ two veg ‘easy-option’ cooking that inspired me to try something a little more adventurous. The previous evening I’d made enough mashed potato to feed an army, putting the remainder in the fridge to be used the following day. It was then that I wondered if there was anything else I could do with it instead of simply reheating to accompany some old chop or mince: again. Well, after a little bit of research and a modest amount of effort I discovered a recipe that even I could follow to create something out of my boring old mash. Are you sitting comfortably? Then I’ll begin. POTATO BALLSCTake enough mash into your hands to roll a ball of about one inch in diameter, then dip it into whisked egg that’s had pepper added to it. Next, roll the ball in corn flour and once again re-roll in the egg. Transfer the ball to a bowl of breadcrumbs, gently ensuring that the whole surface is covered. Once that’s done just put the ball onto a plate and complete the process as often as required. Place the plate of potato balls into the fridge until ready to cook. As the balls are around an inch in diameter one needs to put some oil in a pan to a little over that depth. You guessed it: I’d deep fried my special little ‘spuds’. Now this is where one needs to be very careful as hot oil can be dangerous and must be treated with great respect. Once heated to about 350 degrees, carefully lower each one into the oil and it shouldn’t take too long before it floats to the top. Gently remove and lay them directly onto kitchen towel allowing for excess oil to drip away. Serve.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

