Seeing is Believing

It was about a year ago that I wrote about my need to wear glasses and how, over the years, one simply gets used to having these ‘things’ perched on the bridge of ones nose. It’s been suggested to me on many an occasion that I might consider wearing contact lenses, but I simply cannot bear the thought of putting anything directly onto my eyeballs, let alone having to hoik them out again at the end of every day. That is not to say they are a ‘bad’ thing, I just can’t bear the thought of anything apart from fresh air, rain or the insides of my eyelids coming into contact with my eyes.

Sporting my first pair of prescription sunglasses

Sporting my first pair of prescription sunglasses

Procrastination, they say, is the thief of time and, for sure, I have to be the worlds worst at ‘putting things off’, especially, even given the amount of reminders one is sent in so many different formats these days, my essential eye test. I have been told that one should have ones eyes examined every two years yet this is a process that only gets a glimmer of attention once I’ve hit the ‘heavy squinting’ stage. You know what I mean: When one catches oneself pulling a newspaper or book further and further away from ones head just to be able to read the larger text. The bizarre thing is that I’ve never minded having my eyes tested as it has to be one of the least invasive processes that one may experience, yet I’d never dream of missing my dental appointment every six months. Part of the reason for this is perhaps the sheer cost that may be involved when it comes to buying new glasses. There are so many frames: shapes of frames, all with prices to match though cost of a new crown on the gum can be equally taxing on the wallet. Anyway, I’m writing this sporting my new ‘specs’ and may I say what a pleasure it is to see you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

