Picture the Scene

My brother Tom and I were incessant photographers or perhaps I should use the less grandiose ‘snappers’. We didn’t deal in shutter speeds or talk of resolutions: we were happy simply to record a moment in time purely for the benefit of future generations to realise that even we were once young. My parents had preserved many old family photographs, keeping them in two or perhaps three small volumes of black and white pictures that would be of no interest at all to anyone outside of our family circle. Though, in saying that, I have always enjoyed looking at other people’s recorded family history, so maybe we should have shared more of those classically mounted images. 10523790_10153131294088698_8041223673665856298_nSadly, our eldest brother had taken it upon himself to automatically inherit said volumes, somehow acquiring the beloved pictures, ensuring that they didn’t see the light of day again. No one asked me if I might like to keep any of them following the death of my mother that I may perhaps choose those that had held an individual meaning, or have a reminiscent, emotional, and sentimental: even romantic attachment for me. No, my eldest brother appeared to guard them with an almost Gollum-like precious jealousy. There are other people who spend years in college and university darkrooms watching their efforts miraculously appear before them, even during this immediate digital age, they’re the ones who choose to hone their photographic skills, much to the delight of many a wedding party. Some are rather more purist, using their photographic paper or other such medium as an artist might use a canvas on which to display their work, that they may be rightly exhibited in a gallery if – if they’re lucky. Next week I shall be visiting one such exhibition by a young man in London whose created his own opportunity, managing to finance his first public outing using a form of online crowd-funding, which will also subsidise the publication of his first ‘coffee table’ book.1898335_10153166872543698_3947977190087753560_o11075188_10153166872448698_8119747684588638971_o

604135_10153166890628698_9050421047748227024_n

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Picture the Scene

  1. juliathorley

    Old family photos are amazing, aren’t they? I’ve just changed my FB profile pic to a b/w image of me as a toddler, and while I was looking through the albums for something suitable I found a photo of me sitting on the back of my late dad’s motorbike, holding tightly around his waist. I look about five, and have no recollection of this moment.

Leave a Reply

