Turning the Tables

Last Friday I found myself sitting at Market Harborough railway station waiting for someone I’d never met before: his name? Paddy O’Connell. Paddy is the presenter of the BBC radio 4 Sunday morning magazine programme ‘Broadcasting House’ and he was headed to Harborough to interview me. His Producer, Louise ‘Lou’ Birt, had read a Telegraph article I’d written in this column a few weeks ago about whistling, posing the question, why don’t we hear people whistling anymore? To paraphrase her initial contact with me she said she’d been reading my piece and had got very animated. Apparently she’d been trying to initiate a broadcast on why no-one whistles any longer on ‘Broadcasting House’ for a long time, and saw this as the opportunity to get things rolling. The tables had been turned, after all it was usually my job to interview people and, as I sat at the station waiting for the 13.12 train from St. Pancrass, I found myself becoming a little nervous. Perhaps all interviewers should experience this sensation from time to time, just to remind one of the various levels of trepidation that one feels when faced with the unexpected: the unknown. PADDY BOBPaddy arrived on time bringing with him his young well-behaved little dog Bob. This is a broadcaster of some pedigree and I must confess to being a tad flattered that he’d travelled from London on a Friday afternoon to ‘chat’ with me. Off we meandered onto Fernie Road, the location of HFM radio, my broadcasting home for the past eight years, a set-up that appeared to suitably impress Paddy, given his extensive knowledge and background in local radio. For atmosphere: ambience, Paddy decided to record the interview near a small patch of grassland outside. As soon as it began it was over, after which we said our goodbyes as Paddy and Bob headed off into Harborough town to chat with its great population about the apparent demise of whistling. This Sunday morning should be interesting.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

